“You’re Beautiful” he said

I still remember the first time someone said that I looked “beautiful”.
It was 2006, 2nd Year of Middle School. I know that beauty is subjective, it depends on how people see it. But this is middle school.. my version of ‘beauty’ is when a girl has long black hair, super slender body with flawless skin, knows every single thing about make up, and smells like a peach.

🙂 Me? well i was a tomboy. Probably because it is much more easier to just take a shower and put on a uniform without properly make any effort in looking good. I mean, i look decent, it’s just the simple-pale-face kind of decent.

Anyway.. There’s this guy in my school (that i have a crush on) who was considered popular because he was in the “in crowd”.
He’s super tall and skinny with tanned skin, your usual basketball kind of guy. The first time I saw him was we were at this cafeteria, and he went around the cafeteria talking to every person on that group that he is planning to tell the girl that he liked that he loved her (no. it’s not me). All i could think about at that time was that he’s super romantic, and how that girl is super lucky,etc. A majority of us said yes that we would help. Others choose to go home or just watch.
I never knew this guy or the girl (I mean,because we’re at different classes, that’s why I know who they are but never hang out with them or talk face to face with them more than 5 minutes.) So he was planning to surprise her at the basketball court with all of us handing her a rose, one from each person.
(This is 2006 in Middle School y’all. I don’t know about you, but for me ‘as a person who at this point never dated before’ considered this romantic as hell.)

2 PM. After class we rushed to the basketball court. he ended each of us one rose, there were 20-30 of us all ready. Then This girl came with her best friend. of course she looked confused and weird out at first but when he said that he liked her bla bla bla, and each of us handed her the flower, she then said yes.

I’m gonna be real with you, I thought they’re gonna live happily ever after. But no. Like any other relationships that’s held by a 13-14 year old back in the days, it only lasted roughly 6 days.
The weird part is, every single people who helped didn’t even care.

12.30 PM, I was having gym class and at this semester i’m having the same gym time with the-popular-boys class.
it was fun, we get to see him play ball for a while with the others.
I can’t stop thinking for what he did.
I thought he was super cool and romantic, and then the feeling that i have for him grew even more. (I know. shocking)
My friends decided to have a walk outside of school (in here it’s ok to leave school during school hours, but just at gym time). I was lazy, and i decided to stay and watch him play.

15 minutes later he notice that I was still there. He signed for a timeout, and he walked towards me bringing his blue towel and a bottle of water.
“you’re still here..” he said
“Yeah” I replied.
“So what happened?” I asked trying to break the silence.
“I was tired and took a break” he replied
“No… I meant with—you know..”. at this point i felt stupid after i finished my sentence. I just realised that it’s none of my business.
He just smiled.
“It wasn’t what I suspected.” he said trying to be nice.
“I see.”
“Do you think I made a mistake back then?”. His question surprises me.
“No.. well.. she’s pretty, you’re cool.. when you guys get together you’d be pretty cool”
He laughed.
“You think she’s pretty?”
“Are you kidding? uhh–yeah. Do you have anyone else in mind?”
He smiled. “Yeah. you.”
I looked at him. confused. “Me? What about me?”

“You’re beautiful” he said.

“No I’m not.”
“Yes you are.”
“How?” I asked lightly but still confused.
“You’re smart & funny, The only problem why I haven’t even tried to be your friend is because I thought I wasn’t smart enough and i’m also pretty dull.”
“No you’re not”
He smiled.

He changed how I see myself, he’s the first person who I owe to my confidence and understanding of beauty and attraction. He become one of the people whose really close to me since.

Leave a comment